REUNION 1……..


I saw in the mirror, again everything was same, same mornings and same nights. Everything was so regular every day. I took my car and left for office. I reached office greeted everyone and sat on my table. But it was not even that regular, a card was waiting for me, a marriage invitation. It was my school time best friend who was getting married. I didn’t take a leave from two years but now I had to after all it was my best friend. We had shared so many memories. How could I say no but what about the upcoming presentation? I was the team leader for first time how can i ask for a leave but still it’s also been a long time living the same regular life. I started with my regular work still puzzled what should i do.

In the lunch time i got a call from me parents that some guy was coming to Mumbai to meet me and he will only be here for two days. I didn’t want to go for these arrange marriage stuffs so in hurry I said “I can’t meet him. I have to go to attend Nidhi’s marriage, remember my school friend”.  My parents agreed. Now i had said that I was going to the marriage so i couldn’t change me words and i had to go but what about the work. I will have to finish it early and convince my boss that my juniors will be able to manage the presentation.

While packing i was lost in my school time memories, sounds of laughter and pain of tears, all those faces and all those voices. It just seemed like a dream and now i was going to relive that dream. Everyone must have changed so much. I was in touch with many of them on Facebook but some were out of trace. I even dint know who were coming and who were not. But there was someone whom i remembered completely and did not want to face again. I was little scared that what if even he comes and little relieved that it’s been a long time. He also must have forgotten everything and i will also act as i have forgotten everything.

The best part is that i was breaking the chain of me regular life and stepping out of it for a while. At least it will be good break. I got into the train and started reading some architectural magazine. I saw the girl sitting next to me reading some love story book. I smiled and continued with my magazine.

I reached Delhi early morning. Nidhi’s brother was coming to receive me. I reached Nidhi’s home greeted everyone and went to her room. She was looking all different from childhood, from a tom-boy girl to pretty young lady. Even though checking her photos regularly on facebook, i was still not able to believe my eyes and that I am finally standing in front of her. She was looking very beautiful and happy to see me. We both hugged each other and she started telling me how happy she was to see me.  Then she started telling me who all are coming and already reached for the marriage. But I dint even have the courage to ask about him.

Sun had already gone, stars were twinkling, I was looking towards the stars and realizing how long it had been that life has been so peaceful, it’s been such a long time I couldn’t breathe so deep. I was just lost in the race of life without even noticing my heartbeat. And I heard a voice which was so recognizable even though I have heard it after ages. My heart lost its peace and started running fast. I was mentally prepared for this situation and thought I’ll be able to manage but I really didn’t want to face him now. Nidhi brought him towards me and said “this is Priya and this is Karan you guys must be remembering each other”. I said hello but he was damn quite as he dint hear anything. Then Neha and Suman also joined us and started talking about school memories.

I met Karan again at dinner. He was eating so silently as if he was completely out of the place. I didn’t even know whether I should talk to him or not. I was looking at him and he turned towards me. I just acted as I was so much involved in the discussion. I turned towards him again and realized that he was still looking towards me. I felt may be he is finding himself uncomfortable because of me. May be even he has not forgot everything till now. But we were kids at that time. There is no point being stuck in those moments. Whoever’s mistake was, we should move on. We were going to sleep, I said good night to everyone but again he dint reply anything.

In the morning some people were going for shopping even Karan was going but neither I had to buy anything nor I was feeling like going with him. I told everyone that I won’t be able to come but I really don’t know why Karan told “come no how can being a girl you can say no for shopping. If u doesn’t want to buy anything, at least explore the markets here may be you will like something or get something what you needed”. I again don’t know why but I couldn’t say anything and agreed to go for shopping…………. TO BE CONTINUED…….

Leave a Reply

